Boys-only Backyard Camp-out

My youngest son (9) has been spending a lot of time with a few of his friends lately. They spend hours at the park, digging in the sand, making volcano’sย (pinching my mop bucket to fill them with lava) getting covered in sand, and generally having fun.

They also seem to make cubbies in the underneath of the big palms at the oval. I love this sort of outdoor fun, and try to encourage it whenever possible. So when they came and asked if they could sleep the night in their cubby I was torn. I want them to have the experience of sleeping outside, but sleeping on the oval..I don’t think so!!

So we came up with the idea for a good old-fashioned backyard camp-out ๐Ÿ™‚

His friends were invited, the Mums were consulted…all systems go!

So we pitched the little tent on the grass, and Jared waited (not so patiently) for them to turn up.

What followed was aย nightย of laughter, noise, yelling, playing and so much fun! Not a single fight at all (amazing!!)

They spent hours playing totem tennis, and played at the park (sand castles this time), before I called them in and dusted them off! Then it was make-your-own pizza for dinner…BIG HIT.

Followed by a movie (so much talking I’m amazed they could hear it) then bed.

Once in the tent the giggles got SUPER loud. The dog tried to crash the party, resulting in a LOT of shenanigans, and a mattress just OUTSIDE the tent for him. I think it was about 11 when they went quiet. Unknown to me the little blighters had set an alarm for midnight, to wake up and tell spooky stories! Then the giggles started back up at 5:30am, so not much sleeping happened here! They were up and about by 6 playing totem tennis (so glad there’s no neighbors on that side,lol)

Jared taught them all how to make Toad-in-a-hole for breakfast. Much laughter over egg cracking and bubbles (boys are weird).

Now they are outside playing, laughing, and planning another park trip. They have already asked when they can do it all over again.

I think the backyard camp-out was a MASSIVE success. I guess the things that make kids happy haven’t changed so very much from when I was young. I love just letting kids be kids. It makes me so happy to let them have fun, explore and grow in a natural way, while still making it ‘safe’.

Today I’m feeling like a good Mum ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Boys-only Backyard Camp-out

Tell me what you think...

