The Flower Goes Paleo!

Well it’s now been over a week since I decided to try a paleo lifestyle change…and OMG it is amazing!!!!

I have been trying to ‘get healthy’ for a while now, always a vague plan, no real idea of what I’m doing. I’d heard talk about paleo, and thought it sounded interesting, but maybe a bit too full on for me. But after the last few months, putting on weight, feeling crap (both physically and mentally) and really struggling with energy..I figured what have I got to lose??

So I looked into it (many hours on the computer) and do you know what..it really didn’t seem so hard after all. No tiny portions, no set meals, eat when I’m hungry. Sounds basic right?? The catch was cutting out sugar and grains. Well, I don’t eat much sugar anyway (I know, chocolate counts..but surely I can go without???!!!) Grains is the tricky one..or so I thought.

Turns out it’s not so hard.

 

I have been eating so well, and such a variety of different foods, that I haven’t even missed them. I slipped up 2 or 3 times in the first few days, but mostly I’m doing damn well. The great thing is how well I feel doing it.

My skin has cleared up soo much, no more spots (a friend even said I looked ‘glowing’ and asked if I was wearing makeup!)

My energy levels have increased and stabilized. It’s easier to keep moving, I’m not getting tired so easily, and I can get out of bed in the morning. Mostly because I am sleeping so much better.

I also find I’m not getting crazy hungry like I used to. You know the hunger I mean, where your tummy growls, you get so cranky and snappy, and just have to eat the closest thing? Not happening, not any more!!

I’ve even lost weight! My pants fit better, and I all-over feel good 🙂

Honestly though, I think the best thing is the food!! Now anyone who knows me knows that I’m not much of a cook. There are so many other things I would rather be doing. But knowing how I want to eat, has motivated me to find good recipes. Try new things. No more meat-and-3-veg.

I’ve been eating things like Bacon and egg muffins (http://paleomunch.com/paleo-diet-recipes/paleo-breakfast-muffins-make-for-a-quick-and-easy-breakfast/), or baked Avocado with egg for breakfast. Yummy salads for lunch (real ones, from a book, not just boring crap), and the best dinners EVER. The menu has seen meals like Lamb racks with a medley of roast veg, Hungarian savory mince  (http://www.lavenderandlovage.com/2012/10/mid-week-meal-plan-52-diet-and-hungarian-savoury-minced-beef-recipe.html) Middle-eastern Lamb meatballs with Harrisa yogurt..the list just goes on. If I feel like something to munch on there is fruit salad, baked sweet potato crisps, vege sticks… so much yum!

I really don’t feel like I’m missing out at all. 

The only thing I’m not doing is totally cutting out dairy. I have cut down on it dramatically, but still need milk in my cuppa tea. I’ll work on that one.

All things considered, I really think this way of eating (and the mind-set that goes with it) can totally work for me.For the first time in a long time I am excited about my food, and looking forward to the future.

So if anyone is even thinking about trying Paleo, I say give it a go.

After all, what have you got to lose??

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Flower Goes Paleo!

  1. It’s unreal that you have had such great effects so quickly!! I did it last year for ages and I absolutely loved it. The only thing to be careful of, is returning to old habits down the track… That’s what happened to me, and I hate myself for it. BUT… I, like you, am back on track! it’s exciting when you find cool new recipes! Keep at it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am amazed at how quickly I have started feeling great! I guess as I didn’t eat too much sugar and grains to start with I didn’t cope the side affects so badly 🙂
      I am going to try very hard to stop my bad habits from creeping back in, as I want to keep feeling well.
      Good on you for getting back on track.

      Like

Tell me what you think...

